Bye-bye Winter…Helllloooo Spring!

I am completely ready to relinquish the cold and wet of winter for the warm and wet of spring. In Oregon, that means cloudy skies, sometimes 60 degree temps, and rain showers out of nowhere. An actual spring. I get so giddy at the thought, sometimes, it makes me giggle. And then My Sweetheart looks at me a bit oddly and asks if I’ve taken my meds.

There’s a reason for my unreasonable happiness, though. I grew up in the desert and its two seasons: summer and summer. There wasn’t anything green unless it was forced to stay alive by watering it throughout the night (can’t water during the day because the heat dries up the water thus defeating the purpose of watering the plants). I’m not saying the desert wasn’t beautiful, it was, but something deep within my soul missed the natural order of the seasons and the rain that brought forth the sprouts of spring.

For the first time, in a very long time, I am getting ready for my very own vegetable garden.

Wait…..

I’m getting giddy again.

Okay, moment has passed.

Anyway, we’ve got a huge amount of starts ready to go. The turnips have not faired so well and I’m not sure we’re going to eat all the tomatoes from 72 tomato plants but I’m glad to see that they’ve gotten so big already.

Now, if it would just stop raining on my off-hours so I could actually get the garden bed ready…..

2 thoughts on “Bye-bye Winter…Helllloooo Spring!

    • One of my favorite things about spring are the flowers. In my backyard, the daffodils are in bloom and, along the street, the cherry tree blooms are just past their peak. It was breathtakingly beautiful!

Leave a Reply

