Black Eyed Peas and Ham

Ham Hock and Black eyed peas

From Wikimedia Commons

Mom and Dad came over on Sunday with a lovely ham. Of course, it was about 20 pounds too big for the seven of us, so M & D graciously left most of it with my family. Which is fine with me as I can do a lot with left over ham.

We made ham sandwiches, ham goulash (rice, ham, and veggies), ham and cheese omelet, and, today, black eyed peas and ham.

Possibly the easiest recipe on the face of the earth, black eyed peas and ham can take as long as an hour and a half to a whole day depending on how you cook it. I chose to use the slow cooker method and let it simmer all afternoon.

  • 1 lb of dried black eyed peas (rinsed and picked over)
  • 6 cups of water
  • 1 ham hock or left over meat
  • half a medium onion, rough chopped
  • 1 tbsp salt

I rough chopped the onion and placed it in the bottom of the slow cooker. Then I added in the rinsed peas and poured the water over the top. I mixed in the salt and then plopped in the ham hock.

By the way, I’ve also used bacon (the ends are a great bargain at the market) and I’ve also used pork picnic shoulder bone (an oven roast from which I had plenty of leftovers). If you prefer not to eat meat, leave it out completely (although you may want to use some vegetable broth instead of water for better taste).

After that, I set the slow cooker to high and let it cook away. Now, I put the whole kit and caboodle in at 1 pm so, if you put it on before you leave the house in the morning, set it to low.

I served the peas and ham with a lovely green salad and cornbread muffins. I’m gluten-free so I couldn’t have the muffins but the rest of dinner was plenty to fill me up!

Leave a Reply

