1: New Year’s Resolutions

According to 43things.com, this year’s top resolution is to save money. Not suprising considering the economy. The second is to set an attainable goal, like running a 5k or 10k. Actually, this is a great goal and programs like C25K can be a real help.

Interestingly enough last year’s top resolution, to lose weight, has moved down to number 5 on the top ten list. It seems that people become more introspective when they aren’t out spending money they don’t have.

I have decided not to have a New Year’s resolution this year as a resolution indicates that something needs improving. I, being perfect, have no need for improvement.

*Excuse me while I wait for my husband to stop rolling on the floor in laughter.*

Seriously, I don’t make resolutions. I set goals. And those large, broad strokes are then broken down in to manageable steps.

For example, if my goal is to visit the Louvre in a year, my broad goal would be to “visit the Louvre in France within 12 months.” Then I break that goal down into steps by asking some questions:

  1. How am I going to get to France?
  2. How long will I stay?
  3. Is anyone going with me?
  4. Who will take care of my house and pets while I’m away?
  5. How much will it cost?

Now that I have some questions to investigate, I can break those down into even smaller steps. Let’s take the first question as an example:

  1. Do I want to go by air or sea? How long will both take? What are the pros and cons of each?
  2. Do I have a passport? If not, how long does it take to get one? How much does it cost? If I do, does it need updating? If so, what’s the cost and how long will it take?
  3. Will I plan my trip personally or would it be easier to use a travel agent? Cost vs stress?
  4. What time is best to visit France? During the spring (tourist season) or in August (off season)? Will this affect what I will be able to do and see while I am there?

I can go on and on asking questions. Sometimes we seem overwhelmed by the idea of doing something really big, like going to France on vacation. But by asking ourselves a series of questions (and getting a really good tour book, like Fodor’s) we can break down even the most pie-in-the-sky type goals into steps that anyone can manage.

So, what are your goals this year? Month? Week? I’d like to know!

One thought on “1: New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Pingback: 23 More of a Goal Than a New Year’s Resolution | Living the Digital Life

Leave a Reply

