11 What’s In the Cupboard Chicken Enchiladas

Rather than run to the store yet one more time for tonight’s dinner ingredients, I decided to tighten my belt and use only what was in my cupboard. Scary, no? Read on my intrepid gustatory adventurers as I solve the dilemma and save the day*!

I really wanted to make Judy’s Chicken Enchilada Casserole. It uses pre-made chicken (the chicken thighs we had last night), corn tortillas (I’m gluten-free and I have them on hand), cheese** (always keep a pound or two shredded cheese in the freezer), onions and garlic. To make it interesting, I also added in some rice leftover from last night too.

Despite the somewhat surprising bonanza in my cupboards, I realized that the enchiladas would be lacking sauce as it’s not something I normally keep on hand. And to make things worse, I don’t have the ingredients for the enchilada sauce (as per Judy’s recipe). Thus the opening statement to this post.

Instead, I used a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes, taco seasonings, onions, green peppers and some verde salsa. Saute the onions and peppers, add in the tomatoes, seasonings, and salsa. Et voila! WITC™ (What’s In the Cupboard) enchilada sauce.

*Please excuse the snarky tones tonight. The sheer relief at knowing I could make a decent meal out of the meager offerings in my cupboard makes me giddy.
** I am also dairy-free but a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do (to save money at least).
Leave a Reply

