12 Esther and Ruth

Esther and Ruth are some of my favorite books in the Bible. As a child, I enjoyed reading the rags to riches story of Esther and how she saved the day at the end. And Ruth always brought tears to my eyes as I read her heartfelt statement of faith and how she stayed with Naomi.

As an adult, I read these same books through the lens of life, all my triumphs and failures, and my personal relationship with God. Now, when I read Esther, I no longer see a triumphant heroine but a young woman who was living in a sinful world and who had to struggle find her way out of it to save her people. Ruth still moves me but it’s Naomi that steals my attention with her bitterness and final redemption.

I’ll be facilitating a small group on the books of Esther and Ruth beginning this Thursday at Crossroads Community Church from 6:30 to 8 pm.

9DJGTT3BZWP9 

Leave a Reply

