Hello there, beautiful

Happy New Year! by meddygarnetThis blog has gone through a couple of iterations, and I’ve forgotten how many templates. I keep coming back to it though like a bee to honey. I enjoy writing, but, let’s face it, I’m lazy. I like to think about writing but actually sitting down to do it is draining, which it shouldn’t be. I don’t want to think of blogging or writing as a drag or a burden. It should be invigorating and engrossing and keep me engaged. Which leads me to think that I have been thinking about what blogging is in the wrong way.

You see, I’ve always thought a blog should be about something, have a general theme, or have a tie-in somewhere throughout the posts. I read great bloggers/authors who have a definite blogging theme: she writes about Christianity, she writes about being an author, she writes about homeschooling, etc. And throughout there isn’t any overlap. I rarely read anything other than what the topic of the blog is about. Well, that makes sense, doesn’t it? They’re topical blogs.

My blog isn’t topical, and I think that’s something I need to come to grips with this year. It isn’t a money-making venture, it isn’t a ministry.  I’m comparing myself, my perceived shortcomings, and my abilities against measuring sticks that are meant for something totally different. Therefore, I’m changing the measuring stick to one that measures me in a meaningful way. Writing will be satisfying and enjoyable. What I write will not be nearly as important as the act itself.

2014 will be a banner year for me. I just know it.

Leave a Reply

